The fourth place crew of 2016 Formula 1 champion Nico Rosberg consisting of Johan Kristoffersson and Molly Taylor in the Dorset final meant he was a draw in the standings with Lewis Hamilton’s X44 as they both finished with 155 points.

But after winning the first event in Saudi Arabia and then again in Senegal and Sardinia, RXR grabbed the crown on the X44, which failed to win in the final despite a 100% record. in qualifying.

This happened despite Cristina Gutierrez and Sebastien Loeb who dominated the showdown in the UK.

The popular vote “GridPlay” rewarded the efficient poleman and winner of the X44 semi-final with the choice of the starting slot, and Loeb and Gutierrez opted for the middle lane.

RXR was directly next to it, one lane to the left, as a new rule for the last round of the season required the female rider to start the last race.

Gutierrez used his 400kW hyperdrive to get an early lead to decisively take the lead in the first corner as Taylor endured a slow opening stint knowing fourth place was enough to win the loot. of the title.

Meanwhile, a whirlwind launch for JBXE’s Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky meant the car owned by Jenson Button took off from the far right of the grid to demote Andretti United to third place.

Ahlin-Kottulinsky then chased after Taylor, using the four second hyperdrive activation to get close to the Rosberg X racing machine and place second above the “Knife Edge” jump.

As Gutierrez disappeared with a 6.4-second lead for the X44, RXR fell back further as Catie Munnings relegated Taylor to leave Acciona Sainz’s Laia Sanz to snatch the title from the Rosberg crew.

Cristina Gutierrez, Sébastien Loeb, X44

Photo By: Sam Bloxham / Motorsport images

But a spin for Sanz relieved the pressure, while Munnings had to back up after losing rear end when she hit the brakes to avoid hitting the JBXE car as it approached the driver change area. at limited speed.

Gutierrez finished her two-lap stint 3.3 seconds ahead of JBXE as she left the car for Loeb, and the free-time orthodontist was only narrowly missed by a recovering Munnings.

As Andretti United’s car made its way to its pit lane location, Gutierrez jumped out of the way, but Munnings still retrieved the X44 driver’s seat cushion and dragged it down the road.

Loeb buckled up and emerged with a 4.4 second margin on JBXE and converted victory at the Bovington Army Base Tank Testing Ground.

That, combined with the five-point bonus for setting the fastest time of the round in the designated super sector and the one-year qualifying prowess, left X44 with 155 points.

But quadruple world rallycross champion Kristoffersson brought the RXR car back, which was behind the grid after a last-minute forward reverse switch, in a necessary fourth time.

Success earlier in the season sealed the crown for him and Taylor.

Meanwhile, Kevin Hansen finished second in the final for JBXE to snatch third place in the tag team championship from his brother Timmy Hansen and his teammate Andretti United Munnings.

As Kristoffersson crossed the finish line 15 seconds behind Loeb, the margin was again the same for two-time world rally champion Carlos Sainz Sr as he brought up the rear in the recuperating Acciona Sainz machine .

Source link


Toyota commits $ 70 billion to boost electrification, stocks rally


Travis Pastrana has big plans for the Nitro Rallycross

Check Also