After battling with Finland’s Niclas Gronholm at the first corner of the final of the fourth round of the series 24 hours earlier and being out of the race, the Swede had to give Gronholm second place in the overall order of qualifications.

Both drivers won their semi-finals to lock in the front row of the final, but this time around Kristoffersson, starting from the outside, not only survived the first corner, but also made the best launch and ran. outside the Finn, laterally in his EKS JC Audi to take the lead.

Pursued by Gronholm, a returning Mattias Ekstrom and points leader Timmy Hansen throughout the race, Kristoffersson controlled the race from the front and completed his obligatory wildcard lap on the final course to eventually overcome the bad luck that loomed over him. ‘tormented in the first four rounds of the season to climb for the first time this year on the top step of the podium, his 25th career victory.

Behind, Gronholm followed Kristofferson the whole way, just a few tenths behind the leader but lacked quite the pace to fight for the victory.

Positions changed behind, however, with Ekstrom the first of the first four to take his wild card turn. Hansen responded on the last tour behind leader Kristoffersson, moving up to second on the road and beating his former champion Ekstrom to the bottom step of the podium, as Gronholm took second.

Ekstrom had been the fastest in Q1 but suffered a broken driveshaft in Q3. Regardless, he started first in the semi-finals and reached the final, but narrowly missed a comeback podium on his debut with the Munnich Motorsport team.

Seconds behind Ekstrom in the final, Kevin Hansen and Krisztian Szabo fought for fifth place with Hansen in the lead, while Szabo only reached the last race of the weekend when Timo’s driveshaft Scheider Munnich Motorsport Seat Ibiza failed in its pre-launch on the way to the grid, Szabo entering the final line-up as the first reserve.

Local hero Janis Baumanis claimed victory in the European Rallycross Championship category, the first victory for the ES Motorsport team.

Race results:

Source link


Kimera Automobili EVO37 restarts Lancia 037 Group B rally car


Elliott, Harvick add heated feud to NASCAR playoffs

Check Also