Federated Auto Parts 400 Tribute to First Responders

Location: Richmond, Virginia.

Hours: Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (NBCSN).

Race distance: 400 laps, 300 miles.

Last year: Brad Keselowski won after starting ninth.

Final race: Denny Hamlin defeated regular season champion Kyle Larson in a late green flag race at Darlington to claim his first win of the season.

Fast facts: Hamlin’s victory took him from seventh to second in points, 34 behind Larson. Martin Truex Jr. is third, 44 behind. Kurt Busch is 54 behind and Ryan Blaney 58 behind. … Kevin Harvick (seventh) and Tyler Reddick (12th) are the only drivers without a win in the field of 16. … Larson led 156 of 367 laps against 146 for Hamlin. Hamlin won the first stage and Larson won the second.

Next race: September 18, Bristol, Tennessee.

Location: Richmond, Virginia.

Hours: Saturday, race, 2:30 p.m. (NBCSN).

Race distance: 250 laps, 187.5 miles.

Last year: Justin Allgaier won two consecutive days after starting 16th and 14th.

Final race: Noah Gragson took the lead from Daniel Hemric in overtime at Darlington and held it the rest of the way to clinch a playoff berth.

Quick Facts: AJ Allmendinger’s points lead over defending champion Austin Cindric has dropped from 17 points to 1 point. Justin Allgaier is third, 116 points behind. … Allmendinger and Cindric share the lead with 15 top-five finishes in 24 races. … Allmendinger finished in the lead lap in 23 of 24 races. … There are only two races left before the field of 12 playoff contenders is established. … Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start 30th in his first race of the season.

Next race: September 17, Bristol, Tennessee.

Final race: Sheldon Creed scanned both races of the season at Darlington – and won his second straight race overall – in the first race of the playoffs.

Next race: September 16, Bristol, Tennessee.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 8:30 a.m., and qualifying, noon; Saturday, practice, 6 a.m. and spring, 10:30 a.m. Sunday, race, 9 a.m. (ESPN).

Track: Autodromo Nazionale Monza.

Race distance: 53 laps, 190.6 miles.

Last year: Pierre Gasly won by starting 10th, the deepest place on the starting grid for a winner all season.

Last race: Max Verstappen delighted his audience by winning the Dutch Grand Prix and taking the lead of the championship back from Lewis Hamilton.

Highlights: Verstappen’s victory was his seventh record of the season and the 17th of his career. … Hamilton was second and lost three points in the championship points race. … Hamilton’s Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas finished third. Bottas announced this week that he is leaving Mercedes at the end of the season and will replace Kimi Raikkonen at Alfa Romeo.

Next race: September 26, Sochi, Russia.

Schedule: Saturday, practice, noon and qualifying, 3:15 p.m., heat 1, group 1, 3:35 p.m., heat 1, group 2, 3:55 p.m., heat 2; Sunday, race, 3:30 p.m. (NBC).

Track: Portland International Raceway.

Race distance: 110 laps, 216.04 miles.

Final race: Josef Newgarden won after starting third at the World Wide Technology Raceway outside of St. Louis for his second win of the season.

Highlights: Newgarden is one of four double winners out of 13 races. The others are Pato O’Ward, Alex Palou and Marcus Ericsson. … O’Ward leads Palou by 10 points in the standings. Newgarden is 22 points behind, Scott Dixon is 43 points behind and Ericsson is 60 points off the lead with three races to go.

Next race: September 19, Monterey, California.

Last event: Steve Torrence won in Top Fuel and Tim Wilkerson won in Funny Car in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Next event: September 12, Mohnton, PA.

Upcoming events: September 10-11, Chico, California.

Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.

Source link


Kyle Busch fined for dangerous driving from Darlington to garage


WRC PREVIEW: Acropolis Rally Greece returns for the first time since 2013.

Check Also